Vegan Wine 101

January 27, 2022 Comments are closed » [ssba]

There’s a lot of buzz about all things plant-based, and the wine industry is all in. Of course, grapes are fruit and one would think that all wines are, by default, vegan, but that’s not the case. In order to be designated vegan, a wine must not come into contact with any animal-based products from start to finish.

From supplies and the equipment used during vinification to how the winemaker handles and even stores a wine, there are myriad animal-based components that have traditionally been used in winemaking. Read on to learn about what makes a wine truly vegan.

Hand picked grapes

Winemakers commonly use bone marrow, fish oil, gelatin,casein, and egg whites to filter out yeast and other sediment from wines, a process that’s known as “fining.” Wineries targeting vegan consumers are now choosing to let the particles settle naturally at the bottom of storage containers prior to bottling, eliminating the need for animal-based components.

Some vintners are opting for vegetable plaques, pea protein, and clay fining products as alternatives. Taking things even further, opting for plant-based waxes like rice bran, berry, soy, and candelilla eliminates the use of beeswax, yielding a truly vegan end-product.

2020 Pinot Grigio

We’re happy to share that Ponte proudly produces many vegan wines. For starters, check out our 2020 Pinot Grigio. It features notes of grapefruit, key lime, and a refreshing, briny salinity. Light and crisp with balanced acidity, it’s a great warm-weather wine—set some aside now for spring and summer sipping. While you’re at it, check out this recipe for vegan shrimp. We look forward to hearing how you pair our wine with your plant-based meals, so be sure to tag us and email us with any questions.

Posted by , January 27, 2022 Comments are closed

No comments yet. You should be kind and add one!

The comments are closed.